

# **Legislative Assembly Province of Alberta**

Day 1

(Issued Thursday, May 24, 2012, pursuant to Standing Order 39(4))

## ORDER PAPER

First Session

Twenty-Eighth Legislature

Thursday, May 24, 2012

Please see the Opening Day program for details of the ceremony.

### **NOTICES**

#### **Government Motions**

**4.** Hon. Mr. Hancock to propose the following motion:

Be it resolved that the Legislative Assembly resolve into Committee of the Whole, when called, to consider certain Bills on the Order Paper.

5. Hon. Mr. Hancock to propose the following motion:

Be it resolved that the Legislative Assembly resolve itself into Committee of Supply, when called, to consider supply to be granted to Her Majesty.

**6.** Hon. Mr. Hancock to propose the following motion:

Be it resolved that, pursuant to Standing Order 4(1), the Assembly shall meet in the evening on Tuesday, May 29, 2012, and Wednesday May 30, 2012, for consideration of Government business unless, on motion by the Government House Leader made before 6:00 p.m., which may be made orally and without notice, the Assembly is adjourned to the following sitting day.

7. Hon. Mr. Hancock to propose the following motion:

Be it resolved that, pursuant to Standing Order 3(9), the 2012 Spring Sitting of the Assembly shall stand adjourned upon the Government House Leader advising the Assembly that the business for the Sitting is concluded.

**8.** Hon. Mr. Denis to propose the following motion:

Be it resolved that that the Standing Orders of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta be amended as follows:

- 1. Standing Order 52(1)(b) is amended by striking out "17 Members" and substituting "21 Members".
- 2. Standing Order 52.01 is amended by striking out suborder (1) and substituting the following:
  - (1) At the commencement of the first session of each Legislature, 3 Legislative Policy Committees, consisting of 25 Members each, shall be established to consider the following subject areas:
    - (a) Standing Committee on Families and Communities mandate related to the areas of Health, Human Services, Justice and Solicitor General, Culture, Education, and Service Alberta;
    - (b) Standing Committee on Alberta's Economic Future mandate related to the areas of Agriculture and Rural Development, Aboriginal Relations, International and Intergovernmental Relations, Enterprise and Advanced Education, Tourism, Parks and Recreation, and Infrastructure;
    - (c) Standing Committee on Resource Stewardship mandate related to the areas of Environment and Sustainable Resource Development, Transportation, Municipal Affairs, Treasury Board and Finance, and Energy.
- 3. The Standing Orders of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta are amended by striking out "Policy Field" wherever it occurs and substituting "Legislative Policy".

### **9.** Hon. Mr. Hancock to propose the following motion:

Be it resolved that the following Members be appointed to the Assembly's three Legislative Policy Committees:

### **Standing Committee on Families and Communities** (25 Members)

Pastoor (Chair)	Jeneroux	Notley
Forsyth (Deputy Chair)	Johnson (Calgary-Glenmore)	Pedersen
Allen	Kang	Sarich
DeLong	Kubinec	Saskiw
Fox	Lemke	Swann
Fraser	Leskiw	Wilson
Fritz	Luan	Young
Jablonski	McAllister	Vacant
Jansen		

# **Standing Committee on Alberta's Economic Future** (25 Members)

Amery (Chair)	Hehr	Sandhu
Bikman (Deputy Chair)	Jansen	Sherman
Bhardwaj	Luan	Smith
Blakeman	McDonald	Starke
Donovan	Olesen	Strankman
Dorward	Quadri	Towle
Eggen	Quest	Young
Fenske	Rogers	Vacant

Goudreau

#### **Standing Committee on Resource Stewardship** (25 Members)

Kennedy-Glans (Chair)	Cao	Lemke
Rowe (Deputy Chair)	Casey	Leskiw
Anderson	Fenske	Sandhu
Anglin	Fraser	Stier
Barnes	Hale	Webber
Bilous	Hehr	Xiao
Blakeman	Johnson (Calgary-Glenmore)	Young
Brown	Kubinec	Vacant

Calahasen

**10.** Hon. Mr. Denis to propose the following motion:

Be it resolved that the following Members be appointed to the Standing Committee on Public Accounts:

Kang Stier Webber

Starke

- 11. Hon Mr. Hancock to propose the following motion:
  - A. Be it resolved that the Assembly approve in principle the recommendations of the Review of Compensation of Members of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta ("the Report") submitted by the Honourable J. C. Major, CC, QC, and refer the Report to the Special Standing Committee on Members' Services ("the Committee") for implementation where possible by June 30, 2012, subject to the following exceptions:
    - a) that Recommendation 4 regarding salary for the Premier not be implemented but that the Committee implement a salary that reflects a differential of +25% between the Premier's salary and that of a Minister with Portfolio;
    - b) that Recommendation 10 concerning the expense portion of a Member's remuneration, known as the tax-free allowance, not be implemented and that the amount of that expense allowance be set at zero, pending an amendment to the Legislative Assembly Act to eliminate it;
    - that Recommendation 11 regarding the implementation of a new Transition Allowance be rejected and that no further amounts shall be accumulated beyond those accrued by eligible Members prior to the commencement of the 28th Legislature;
    - d) that the Committee examine alternatives to the pension plan for Members proposed in Recommendation 12 and discussed in section 3.5 of the Report, including defined contribution plans, and report to the Assembly with its recommendations;
  - B. Be it resolved that nothing in this Motion shall limit the Committee's ability to report to the Assembly on any other matter arising from the Report.

Hon. Gene Zwozdesky, Speaker

Title: Thursday, May 24, 2012